Dad

So, this is my dad.

I love my dad.

And I know, I know, that my dad loves me.

The amount of time he spent driving, sitting in cars, and listening to painful violin recitals and school concerts, I can barely comprehend.

My dad, along with my husband, is my biggest fan. I have leaned on his love and boundless faith in me, pretty much, every day of my life.

Josh and I asked my dad to share some thoughts, a little talk, on our wedding day, and it is completely not an exaggeration to say that when I talk to people about our wedding day, they ALL remember and talk about my dad’s talk.

You know how you have an interior mental picture of yourself? The you that you like best, that feels most capable most YOU? This is my dad’s (I think):

As a  monk, you don’t have a ton of control over the daily details of your life, and you don’t HAVE to. Very freeing, in a way. You’re meant to focus on the spiritual, the interior. I know that my dad really felt a deep sense of peace when in the monastery. I am sure being in a monastery is not EASY. But it is– intentionally—simple.

But then, had my dad stayed in the monastery, there would have been no me…

And no Alden…

Happy Fathers Day, Dad. Love you!

 

1-4-3

 

 

One thought on “Dad

  1. Grace

    The word “Grace” comes directly from the Latin, “gratia”, but let us first look at its most ancient definition in Hebrew:
    1. from “chen”(noun)
    – a quality which arouses favor; it may lie in
    external appearance or in speech;
    e.g., “to find favor in the eyes of God and/or man”
    “one who manifests kindness and
    compassion in rendering aid;
    2. from “chanan”(verb)
    -to show favor, used of men; an attitude which is
    proper toward the needy, the poor, the orphan
    and to any who are in distress.
    – The act of giving gifts;
    -Used for Yahweh’s acts of benevolence,
    source of ALL good gifts;
    -Especially creation [everything from nothing]
    and forgiveness [ friendship from sinfulness].
    Next in its use in the New Testament Greek:
    1.from “charis”
    – it is closely and fundamentally identified with
    the entire “good news” and is a key word
    – it is what Christians wish to each other in
    greeting or in departing( as Christian ‘shalom’).
    2. from “charizesthai” (verb)
    – to give freely as a favor;
    – with God as the giver, the object given is Christ

    …and …that’s my Grace. Love, Grampa Charlie

    P.2
    Profane use (not a “bad” use):
    – “charis” (noun):
    – attractiveness( as in the word
    “charm”); the quality that wins favor; ”
    – good will of God(grace)
    …viewed both as act and effects;
    both as
    something given
    and something received
    and something possessed

    Derivatives: from Greek (Χαρις)[charis]
    “charity” the giving of gifts
    “charisma” A sign of being gifted
    “charismatic” Possessing great gifts
    “eu charis tia”- the greatest gift
    Derivatives in Latin of “Gratia” (“thanks, grace”)
    gratitude, grace, thanksgiving(as in
    ‘eucharist’)

    So, we are meant to be pipelines to others and not barrels to be filled. All good gifts come from God to us in order that we allow those gifts to pass through us to others. And, like Muhammed Ali, we point to Allah when we win, for God is the ultimate source of all that we have been given and we can scarcely take credit for ourselves when we help others.
    When we take all the credit for what we have or do, we constipate our pipe. God(within each of us) gives to God( within everybody else) through us.

Leave a Reply

