Ch-ch-ch-ch

…changes.

As of yesterday, it’s an in-between time. Like the middle part of a roller coaster ride, when you wonder if it’s over.

It isn’t over, of course, there are dizzying drops and twists and loops and so on. (I always scream my head off on roller coasters, by the way.)

But there’s often a tiny space, just enough to look around, take a deep breath, make sure you still have your sunglasses, and adjust your grip.

I’ve decided to take a new job, and shared that news with all my co-workers, and I have a week left until my last day here. I’ve worked here just over a year.

I was walking on Waterworks Hill this morning early and realized how good I would feel telling people about my new job. So, let me tell you: I’m going to be doing professional development trainings, both online and in-person, for child care and early education providers in Missoula, Ravalli, and Mineral counties. I am so, so thrilled to be returning to the field of early childhood.

In working with young children, their parents, and their teachers, I have never had doubts about doing the right thing, about the importance of my work, and about making a difference. “And that isn’t really a statement about other fields of work,” I thought to myself this morning on the hill, amongst the lupines. “It’s a statement about ME.”

My current job has given me many really special opportunities, including to learn and to travel. But my new job (I think and hope) will give me the opportunity to use more of my knowledge. More of my creativity, empathy, and people-stuff. And it will give me the opportunity to be refocused at home, with my family and in Missoula.

Don’t get me wrong. I LOVE to travel. I get excited about checking out a new place, hunting for the unfamiliar, yet homey, spots. But being away from home, for so many stretches of three, four, five days… that has been a real stress on all three of us.

I’m taking a week off between jobs and I plan to do every kind of nothing there is.

For example, Alden wanted to play Candyland last night. It had been a while since we had played. The last time, I remember it taking forever, or seemed to. Last night, we played twice– 100% legitimately– and we were done in the time it took Josh to whip up spinach omelettes and a salad for dinner.

Deep breath. Adjust the grip. Sunglasses? – check.

2 thoughts on “Ch-ch-ch-ch

  1. Your plan for the week reminds me of one of my favorite lines from Office Space. “I did absolutely nothing, and it was everything that I thought it could be” … enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

