Boy stuff

This is what I came home to today:

boys8

Josh and Alden usually have Mondays together, and along with this outrageous marble run/car track/room altering creation, they also went to a local indoor galleria building to throw some of their favorite paper airplane constructions.

Just a few of the things I would never, ever do.

Along with this:

boys1

this,

, 011

or this:

boys4

Then there are the fur pants– I don’t wear those, either. But the boys sure enjoy ’em:

049 boys7

Since I first started back to work, when Alden was one, Josh has had lots of Alden time. Whether it’s on their weekly home days so I can work a full shift, or in the evenings so I can do a gig or a practice, or on part-days while Josh and I pass like ships in the night.

They share a whole world of puzzles, projects, and particular ways of seeing the world that I… just don’t. Alden and I have our own things, and usually I write about them here…

boysagain

But coming home today to the car/marble/fort extravaganza (which, by the way, looks way more “contained” in the picture than it seemed at the time!)– I realized how much I love their special stuff. Fur pants and all.

boysagain2

One of the coolest things about being Alden’s mom is getting to see Josh be his dad. It’s hard, sometimes, because we’re different. And it can be hard because our ships-in-the-night parenting can feel like there’s little going on at times BESIDES parenting on the fly… hoping we haven’t dropped the ball, forgotten the appointment, neglected to pick up milk, or maybe not let each other know lately that we think the other is really great. At being a parent, and a lot of other things too…

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Boy stuff

  1. Oh my gosh! That first contraption is amazing. I adored this sentence: “One of the coolest things about being Alden’s mom is getting to see Josh be his dad.” So very true.

  2. That first contraption is so cool! Also I adored this sentence: “One of the coolest things about being Alden’s mom is getting to see Josh be his dad.” So very true.

Leave a Reply

