The awesomeness of being six

Image

Alden is.

Six.

I kept thinking of this all day:

Image

Which, this little book has always had an extra helping of the sad-sweetness that is Pooh, to me.

I mean, it isn’t stories. It’s poems. And, this:

When I was one I had just begun
When I was two I was nearly new
When I was three I was hardly me
When I was four I was not much more
When I was five I was just alive
But now I am six, I’m as clever as clever;
So I think I’ll be six now for ever and ever.

And… it’s kind of true.

It’s awfully fun and strange, having a six-year-old around.

He makes new kinds of jokes. Startles us with his sense of humor. (I talked about making shrimp-wrapped-bacon for his birthday party and he said, “Heh. You better be careful, mama. I ate ’em all the last time.”) …um, he did. We made double this time.

He startles us with his turns of phrase. “I believe it’s over there…” “I don’t prefer that kind…” Who the hell talks like that? Oh shit.

He startles me with his snugglesome side. I keep expecting it to fade away but we are in a snuggle renaissance. He likes to get in the “warm spot” with me in the morning and hug me skin to skin, and gives me “twenty two kisses” at night. I know this will change, I know it, and I am putting every single smooch and snug into my bank against more distant days down the road.

He’s the same, he’s different, he’s himself, growing to become the big boy he is. Awesome. Six.

Image

One thought on “The awesomeness of being six

  1. This sounds lovely. I’m really enjoying not quite four (my boy’s age) but this sounds like it will be fun when we hit that stage! (And it’s nice to know I’ve got something to look forward to. 😀 )

Leave a Reply

