April 8

The Tulips

Against the odds,

the tulips are coming up.

In fact, they appear to have multiplied.

I don’t mean the ones

by the fence.

Those?

Who plants white tulips, anyway?

Doggedly returning spring after spring,

I suppose I could dig them up,

transplant or replace them, but

I probably won’t.

Resilient annoying flowers.

No, the ones I admire

were the loners,

yellow-and-red-striped,

curly-petaled,

strangely pushing their way into corners of the yard

where no one would ever plant,

well,

anything.

Then we trenched and tracked and excavated

the whole yard

to move the water supply

and I was startled to see

curly yellow-and-red stripes

gamely emerging

from the pile of clean fill.

 

One thought on “April 8

Leave a Reply

